As a part of its annual U.S. News STEM Solutions conference, U.S. News & World Report honors distinguished leaders in education, industry, and other sectors as part of the U.S. News STEM Leadership Hall of Fame. These pioneers have strong track records of achievement in advancing STEM education and workforce development, and they share a firm commitment to developing a blueprint for the future of STEM.

France A. Córdova, Ph.D., Director, National Science Foundation

France A. Córdova is an astrophysicist and the 14th director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), the only government agency charged with advancing all fields of scientific discovery, technological innovation, and science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education. NSF is a $7.5 billion independent federal agency; its programs and initiatives keep the United States at the forefront of science and engineering, empower future generations of scientists and engineers, and foster U.S. prosperity and global leadership. Read more… 


Ira Flatow, Host and Executive Producer, Science Friday

Award winning science correspondent and TV journalist Ira Flatow is the host of Science Friday®, heard weekly on PRI, Public Radio International, and online. He anchors the show each Friday, bringing radio and Internet listeners world wide a lively, informative discussion on science, technology, health, space and the environment. Flatow is also founder and president of Science Friday Initiative, a 501 (c)(3) non-profit company dedicated to creating radio, TV and Internet projects that make science “user friendly.” Read more…

Henry Samueli, Ph.D., Co-Founder and Chief Technical Officer, Broadcom

Dr. Henry Samueli co-founded Broadcom Corporation in 1991. In 2016 Broadcom Corporation was acquired by Avago Technologies Limited and renamed Broadcom Limited. The combined company is a global leader in providing semiconductor solutions for wired and wireless communications. Dr. Samueli currently serves as Chief Technical Officer and Board Member of the company. Read more…


James E. West, Ph.D., Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Johns Hopkins University

Dr. James West, a professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Mechanical Engineering at the Johns Hopkins University, is known worldwide as the co-inventor of the foil electret microphone. This is a type of condenser microphone upon which 90 percent of all microphones used today (such as in telephones, sound and music recording equipment, and hearing aids) are based. Dr. West developed the invention with his research partner Gerhard Sessler in 1962 while both were scientists at Bell Laboratories in Murray Hills, NJ. Read more…

Also pictured: Matthew Sutton of CH2M and U.S. News Editor Brian Kelly
Susan Hockfield
President, AAAS; President Emerita and Professor of Neuroscience, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Andrew Liveris
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The Dow Chemical Company
Ellen Ochoa
Director, NASA Johnson Space Center
Ioannis Miaoulis
President and Director, Museum of Science, Boston
Ursula Burns
Chairman, Xerox Corporation

Also pictured: U.S. News Editor Brian Kelly
John J. Tracy
Chief Technology Officer and Senior Vice President, Engineering, Operations & Technology, The Boeing Company
Edward B. Rust Jr.
Chairman of the Board, State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
Norman C. Francis, Ph.D.
President Emeritus, Xavier University of Louisiana
Ellen Kullman
Retired Chair of the Board and CEO, DuPont
Anna Maria Chávez
Chief Executive Officer, Girl Scouts of the USA

Also pictured: Riley Bechtel (for Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr.), Charles A. Peters of Emerson, and U.S. News Editor Brian Kelly
Craig R. Barrett
Ph.D., Retired CEO/Chairman of the Board, Intel Corporation
Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr.
Senior Director, Bechtel Group, Inc.; Senior Director, The Fremont Group
Maria Klawe
Ph.D.,President, Harvey Mudd College
Shirley Malcom
Ph.D., Head of Education and Human Resources Programs, AAAS
Eduardo J. Padrón
Ph.D., President, Miami Dade College

Also pictured: U.S. News Editor Brian Kelly and moderator Ray Almgren of National Instruments
Anousheh Ansari
Co-founder, chair and CEO, Prodea Systems
Norman R. Augustine
Retired chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin
Shirley Ann Jackson, Ph.D.
President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
William H. Swanson
Chairman and CEO, Raytheon

Also pictured: U.S. News Editor Brian Kelly and moderator Ray Almgren of National Instruments
Dan Arvizu, Ph.D.
Director and Chief Executive, U.S. Department of Energy’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory. Chairman, National Science Board
Sylvia Earle, Ph.D.
Explorer-in-Residence, National Geographic Society
Irwin Mark Jacobs, Sc.D.
Founding Chairman and CEO Emeritus, Qualcomm
Lucy Sanders
CEO and Co-founder, National Center for Women & Information Technology
Charles Vest, Ph.D.
President, National Academy of Engineering
President Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Richard B. Alley, Ph.D.
Evan Pugh Professor of Geosciences, Penn State
Mary L. Good, Ph.D.
Special Adviser to the Chancellor for Economic Development, University of Arkansas—Little Rock
Freeman A. Hrabowski Ill, Ph.D.
President, University of Maryland—Baltimore County
Tom Luce
Chairman, National Math + Science Initiative
Ray Mellado
Chairman and CEO, Great Minds in STEM